November 28, 2015

Publishers' Notes


Subscribe To Daily  Headlines

Streamline Press

Industry Q&A

Radio Revenue

Market Profile

Calendar of Events

Reader Feedback


About Us

Contact Us





2004 Most Influential African-Americans in Radio (3/08/04)
Perhaps the greatest hurdle for the African-American broadcaster is a playing field that has never been level and that shows no sign of leveling any time soon. Once again, Radio Ink lists the Most Influential African-Americans in Radio, identifying men and women whose hard work and dedication deserve recognition and respect. This year's list has been expanded to 35.

1. Alfred Liggins — President/CEO, Radio One Inc.

2. Catherine Hughes — Founder/Chairperson, Radio One Inc.

3. Pierre "Pepe" Sutton — Chairman/CEO, ICBC Broadcast Holdings

4. Sydney L. Small — Chairman/CEO, Access.1 Communications Corp.

5. Tom Joyner — Host, The Tom Joyner Morning Show and Chairman, Reach Media

6. Ronald Davenport, Sr. — Chairman, Sheridan Broadcasting

7. Skip Finley — Vice Chairman, ICBC Broadcast Holdings Inc.

8. Charles Warfield — President/COO, ICBC Broadcast Holdings Inc.

9. Barry Mayo — Sr. VP/Market Manager, WQHT/WRKS/WQDC New York (Emmis)

10. Zemira Jones — President/GM, ABC Radio Chicago

11. Darryl Brown — Executive VP/GM, ABC Radio Networks

12. Michael L. Carter — Chairman/CEO, Carter Broadcast Group Inc.

13. Bruce Demps — Sr. VP/ Mid-America Region, Clear Channel Radio

14. Wayne Brown — VP/GM, Radio One, Atlanta and Regional Manager, Raleigh N.C./Charlotte N.C.

15. Lee Armstrong Clear — St Louis Market Manager, RVP/Clear Channel Radio

16. Al Vicente — President/CEO, Archway Broadcasting Group LLC

17. Chesley Maddox-Dorsey — President/COO, Access.1 Communications Corp.

18. E.J. “Jay” Williams — President, American Urban Radio Networks

19. Earl Jones — Market Manager/RVP, Clear Channel Louisville

20. Rick Caffey — Sr.VP/Market Manager, Infinity Atlanta Radio Group

21. Earnest James — Senior VP/Market Manager, Infinity Broadcasting Orlando

22. Taft Harris — GM, WSRB/WYCA/WPWX (Crawford Broadcasting)

23. Kernie Anderson — GM, WBLS-FM and WLIB-AM, New York

24. Glenn Cherry — Owner/President/CEO, Tama Broadcasting Inc.

25. Doug Banks — Syndicated personality, ABC Radio Networks

26. Steve Hegwood — CEO/President, On Top Communications

27. Jerry Rushin — GM, WEDR/WHQT Miami (Cox)

28. Tony Kidd (Anthony Keitt) — VP/GM, (WALR, WFOX) Cox Radio Atlanta

29. Karen Slade — VP/GM, KJLH Los Angeles

30. Alex Snipe Jr. — Owner/President, Glory Communications

31. Tony Washington — VP/Corporate Sales, Radio One Inc.

32. Jim Winston — Executive Director, NABOB

33. Doc Wynter — VP/Programming/Urban Radio, Clear Channel

34. Sherman Kizart — VP/Director of Urban Marketing, Interep

35. (tie) Muriel Funches — New Orleans Market Manager, Clear Channel Radio

35. (tie) Launa Thompson — Station Manager/GSM, WGCI-AM/FM, WVAZ-FM (Clear Channel)

Comment on this story

  From the Publisher 

<P> </P>