Current Issue:

Current Issue

On The Cover:
Cumulus Chairman Jeff Marcus

Click here to subscribe to Radio Ink.

Radio Ink Writers

Rusty Walker Scholarships Announced


The three inaugural Rusty Walker Scholarship winners are: Jeff Harju (GM, WHKB/Houghton, MI), Cynthia Hayward (Air Personality/MD/Asst. PD, KMOK-FM/Lewiston, ID), and Courtney Smith (Promotions Director, WOLF/Syracuse, NY). The winners will receive an expenses-paid trip and complimentary registration to the Country Radio Seminar in Nashville in February.

CRS Executive Director Bill Mayne said, “The Rusty Walker Scholarship program stands not only to honor the legacy of one of the Country radio community’s most respected and influential members, but also to extend a helping hand to those coming up through the ranks. What better way to pay tribute to Rusty, who helped so many people throughout his long and prolific career? We are proud and excited to welcome Jeff, Cynthia, and Courtney to their first CRS!”

The Rusty Walker Scholarship program was created in 2012 to honor Country Radio Hall of Fame member Rusty Walker, who passed away in May 2012. Each scholarship provides one full CRS 2013 registration, one ticket to the Country Radio Hall of Fame Dinner, and covers airfare and hotel room expenses for four nights in Nashville.  Scholars will be recognized at the CRS 2013 opening ceremonies and will have the opportunity to meet and interact with CRS board members during the three-day event. All scholarship applications were reviewed by a CRS selection committee.

CRS 2013 will be held Feb. 27-March 1, 2013, at the Nashville Convention Center in downtown Nashville, Tenn.