Current Issue:

Current Issue

On The Cover:
Cumulus Chairman Jeff Marcus

Click here to subscribe to Radio Ink.

Radio Ink Writers

Caroline Beasley Adds Another Trophy To The Mantle.


She's one of Radio's 40 Most Powerful, she's one of the Most Influential women in the business, and now Caroline Beasley can add Trailblazer to her long list of accomplishments. This award comes from The Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio. MIW Radio Group Spokesperson and Greater Media Vice President of Corporate Communication Heidi Raphael said, "Caroline Beasley’s outstanding leadership and commitment to the radio broadcasting industry and Beasley Broadcast Group made her the perfect choice to receive this coveted honor."

Caroline Beasley is Beasley Broadcast Group's Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer. Beasley is the 4th recipient of the annual MIW Radio Group Trailblazer Award which was renamed in 2012. It's now called the “Frances Preston Trailblazer Award.” Beasley will be recognized on stage on Wednesday, September 19 during the Opening Remarks and Welcome Keynote session at the 2012 Radio Show in Dallas, Texas.

The Trailblazer Award is presented each year to a woman who has "blazed new trails" for women in the radio industry. It is being renamed in 2012 the “Frances Preston Trailblazer Award” in honor BMI’s longtime president and CEO. Not only was Frances Preston one of the earliest members of the MIW Radio Group, through her support BMI became -- and remains today -- an advocate of the group’s mentoring efforts. Frances founded BMI’s Nashville office, was the first female executive in the country music industry and rose through the ranks to become the New York-based BMI president for 18 years before retiring in 2004. Frances Preston passed June 13, 2012, at the age of 83.