Current Issue:

Current Issue

On The Cover:
Cumulus Chairman Jeff Marcus

Click here to subscribe to Radio Ink.

Radio Ink Writers

CRB Names 2010 Country Hall Of Fame Inductees

November 2, 2009: Country Radio Broadcasters has named its 2010 inductees into the Country Music DJ Hall of Fame and the Country Radio Hall of Fame. The inductions will be made official at a dinner set for February 23, 2010, in Nashville, during the Country Radio Seminar.

Joining the DJ Hall of Fame are:

Bill Bailey, who spent most of his career at KIKK/Pasadena-Houston, TX and KENR but also worked at KELP/El Paso, KATR/Corpus Christi, and KIOA/Des Moines, among other stations. He took honors as CMA's Large Market Disc Jockey of the Year in 1979.

Laurie DeYoung, a 24-year veteran of WPOC/Baltimore, currently in mornings. She began her career at WMUZ/Detroit and has worked in her career at, among other stations, WKLQ/Grand Rapids and KTHT/Houston, and she took honors as CMA Large Market Personality of the Year in 1994.

Rudy Fernandez, who started his Country career at KEAN/Abilene, TX, in 1978 and has now been with the station almost continuously for 31 years.

The Country Music Radio Hall of Fame inductees are:

Cy Blumenthal, who purchased WARL/Arlington, VA, in 1951 and eventually became the first owner of a chain of large-market country stations. Blumenthal died in 1983.

Dan Halyburton, currently president of RadioTime, who earlier in his career spent 25 years with Susquehanna Radio. He has served as chairman and president on the CMA board and on the CRB board and CRS agenda committee.

Michael Hammond, Citadel Media/Knoxville director of operations. He joined WIVK/Knoxville in 1973 and also worked at WKDA & WKDF/Nashville and WZRR and WJOX/Birmingham, AL, before returning to WIVK in 1994. He took honors as CMA's Program Director of the Year in 1987.

"CRB is proud to welcome these six very deserving members to the Country Music DJ and Radio Hall of Fame," said Country Music DJ and Radio Hall of Fame Chairman R.J. Curtis. "The 2010 inductees are a diverse group of dedicated broadcasters who embody the most important criteria for induction, by having made significant contributions to the Country radio and music industry. On behalf of the Hall of Fame Committee, I congratulate each and every honoree."

Add a Comment


Send This Story To A Friend